M45 Fuel Gauge problem??? Post here if you have/had it!!!

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
oldls400

I guess this question is directed to the guy Mike?, who is the Infiniti tech. How hard is it to replace the gauge cluster?
I am a fairly competant mechanic but have no experience on Infinitis and am looking to purchase a first gen M45. Just want to know what I might be in for as I always do all my own service/maintenance on my own cars. Thanks!

kp1
Car: infiniti m45 2003

ive had it 4 times first time had to pay 900 to fix at dealership came with 1 year warranty every year just befoer warranty was up they fixed for free this happened 4 years in a row just got it back about 2 months ago with 1500 dollars in parts and labor for free hope it works but if it dont dont mind using there warranty vehicles =] for freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

moparrob1
Car: M45

Well, add me to the list. (2003 M45) Mine went out at about 65,000 miles/4 years and the dealer acted like they had no idea of what I was talking about, as far as this being a huge problem.

Dealing with Infiniti Customer Relations was no better. Their position was that they also did not recognize the problem to be of a significant enough nature that they needed to issue a recall. Additionally, since my car was 'that far' out of warranty, and each case was determined on a 'case by case' basis, they did not feel that I was a valued enough customer to deserve any sort of accommodation. I even suggested they charge me for the labor and eat the parts, and I offered to even buy a replacement fuel pump/sender unit to sweeten the deal but they really couldn't care. For what it's worth, I explained to them that as an Infiniti owner I am an ambassador of the company and that it was in their best interests to keep their owners satisfied so that I would not only potentially buy another car from them, but also because many people ask me what I think of my car.