NukeKS14's Grip-Zenki build

General discussion forum about the 240sx, and a great place to introduce yourself to the board!
NukeKS14
Car: 1995 240SX SE - KA24DE-T
AC Cobra Mk IV Rep.
2020 Civic Si

Well I've finally decided to sit down and organize my progress, past, present, and future, into a legit build thread. Having the power-plant at least 99% finished I can actually group this like I want so here goes. I'll try to relegate this into posts that cover an individual subsystem from start to finish.

My end-goal for this car is something I'll be taking to the track. Not drag and not drift; I'm a grip driver. Good ol' SCCA/NASA roadcourse stuff. I was a member of NASA-SE for 3 years while I was stationed in Charleston, SC and I wanted to rebuild a 240 like one of the many I had growing up. There's tons of potential and aftermarket support for our cars. I could shovel money in to my 1LE Camaro and go faster but I don't feel as connected with that car. Could be the electronic steering. Could be the drive-by-wire throttle. Could be the 305's all around. The car just feels numb to me. And I don't want to do what needs to be done for weight reduction on that car. Give me cable driven throttle response and leaky hydraulic power steering any day, (and an 1100lb weight advantage out the door!) This car will grow with me and I'll build it with my own 2 hands.

Two summers ago I had been looking in earnest for a 240 project. I had all but given up trying to find a decently priced, rust free example when I came across this S14 in Oklahoma. It wasn't running right and needed a little love, but the frame was straight and rust free, and the price was right so I drove it home and got to work.

Here's what I started with: