New Owner / Member - Advice on my Purchase?

The Nissan 300ZX (Z32) general community discussion forum
LetsGo
Car: 1990 300ZX NA 2+2

Hello all - I am a brand new owner and just found and joined this site. I am picking up this weekend a 1990 300ZX NA 2+2. I don't know how active this site is but I could really use some advice and let me start off by admitting, right up front, that I am no mechanic. I am handy and work on easier things, but I don't have the tools or knowledge for anything involved.

So here is the deal on this car. I am buying it from a neighbor, original owner (elderly), and garage kept. It has about 95k miles but for the past 15 years has hardly been driven. Every 3-4 months he drives it slowly around his neighborhood for a few minutes and parks it in the garage again. That's it for the past 15 +/- years. The only "known" problems are one of windows does not operate, and there is a leak somewhere in the break system. I am assuming the timing belt is a must-do, and also all new fluids, probably brakes, and tires. I don't want to spend endless money but I want to get everything done now, right, in order to enjoy the car and prevent, as much as possible, more problems down the road.

My main question is this - should I take the car to the local Nissan dealer and hope for the best? Or try to find an independent mechanic? I don't know anyone where I am (SW Florida) and if Nissan is the safest / best place to get this main stuff done up front, then that is what I will do, even though I am sure they will hose me on cost. Any advice gents?

Thank you for any guidance. I'm a total newb with not only this car / brand, but buying any old car like this.

NolimitZ32
Car: 91 AG2 2+0 TTMT swap/E39 BMW 540i6/E53 4.6is Dinan S3