my slow low budget rebuild

For the RWD SR20DET cars! Sponsored by Wiring Specialties.
s13-t
Car: s13 pig nose w/blacktop sr20det

Took the motor out because it needs a new oil pump and some other oem stuff along with a new turbo cause the t25 developed shaft play. oil press at idle was 11 when I stopped driving it.

basically Im a college student with no money but I want to do this right so whatever needs to be done will be done when I have the money for it. In all honesty I have no idea how much damage the bottom end has but I will cross that road when I come to it.

any input is welcome. If your selling parts that I need or ones you think I would be interested in then feel free to post a link.

here's my valve cover. look scorched? carbon build up maybe?

valve train

everything was really dirty, though that oil (mobil 1 fully synthetic 10w30) had less than 1k miles.

removed the CAS, the chain tensioner and the cams.

the flash makes the pic below look worse but does that look like lack of oil to the valve train or just carbon build up?

my head studs are an allen wrench.... anybody know what size?

guess what- after removing the crank pulley bolt I grabbed the pulley and yanked. I noticed a small amount of movement. as if my crank could slide a mm back and forth. This would almost 100 percent be a bad thrust bearing correct? however I NEVER heard knocks from the bottom end. Hear lifter ticks but never anything from the block. Now I know that my front main seal is bad because I have oil all around it on the front cover. so would a bad front main seal allow the crank to move a small amount?

s13-t

removed the head today. had to go buy a 10mm allen head socket and a breaker bar but I got it done. I was worried that I had blown pistons but other than the carbon I dont think theres any damage. wat do you guys think?