Windshield WASHFLUID ISSUE!

General Discussion forum for Versa Owners
SpeedyV09
Car: 08 Versa SL Black

It's LONG I know but please read it all

I am a college student. Have to park my Versa outside. Live in Minnesota don't know if anyone has been watching the news but we have had a lot of snow and some really f***ing cold temperatures!

Had a snow emergency the other night drove my car into schools reserved lot very quickly didn't check anything.

When warming it up and putting it back on the street went to use my windshield washer fluid. NOTHING, checked to see if snow was blocking it NOPE. Found a spot parked grabbed a flashlight popped the hoodTHE TANK IS FROZEN SOLID! The fluid is rated to -25 below

we have had -9° temps over the past 2 days car has been outside with windchill were pushing -30°

What do I do? I can warm it up obviously but I'm more concearned about the tubes and if it suddenly heats up cracking and the pump motors were used to. Even more concearning is the back window, didn't try it but I know lines freezing is a large problem.

ANY ADVICE PLEASE!

Thank You

MinisterofDOOM
Car: 1962 Corvair Monza
1961 Corvair Lakewood
1997 Pathfinder XE
2005 Lincoln LS8
Former:
1995 Q45t
1993 Maxima GXE
1995 Ranger XL 2.3
1984 Coupe DeVille

I wouldn't worry about damage from melting. It'd be hard to melt the ice fast enough to do any damage to plastic components. It's the freezing that's likely to do the damage. Hopefully your pump is unharmed.

You might want to see if the manufacturer of the fluid you use offers any guarantee...if it's rated to 25 below, I'd say they owe you some replacement parts if anything was damaged. Wind chill should not affect the washer reservoir...it isn't exposed to the wind.

Andrews Chalmers
Car: Versa '07 SL CVT