Wheel Spacers

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
bgruhn76
Car: 2000 Nissan Pathfinder SE Ltd 2WD - Black

So I know it's a touchy topic, but I just don't have the funds to replace my wheels and tires at this time. I just put new tires on my stock 16" wheels last year. Only put about 4,000 miles on it since. (Not primary vehicle)
I'd like to offset the wheels, not sure what spacers to go with. Some people say as long as they are quality made and hub centric, they're fine. Others say you need new longer studs for them not to be "widow makers". Well I have zero experience with spacers. I read a few threads on here that were buried pretty well. Would someone mind assisting me in the proper selection, if any?
Thanks.

Hawairish
Car: 2004 Nissan Pathfinder SE 4WD

There are two types of spacers to be aware of: spacers and adapters.

Spacers are just thin plates of metal, usually up to about 1/4" thick. These just slip over the wheel studs, between hub and wheel. You might need longer wheel studs to be on the safe side. Ideally, you'd want wheel studs to be as much longer as the spacers are thick. Specifically for the R50, you can buy rear wheel studs and install them up front. Keep in mind, though, that you may also want deeper lug nuts...not just for fitment, but instead if you ever have to run without a wheel spacer for any reason...the OE lug nuts might not be deep enough to properly seat the wheel to the hub.