What is this axle nut cover part?

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
casperfun
Car: 2009 Nissan Rogue SL AWD - Indigo Blue

Right after you remove the cotter pin, the cage that covers the axle nut is missing. Or whatever it’s called.

Most likely, the Nissan technicians lost it or were to lazy to put them back.

So I’ve been driving without one for many years after getting some work done long ago. :bang

Does anyone know the part number or what you call this, I prefer to order online on eBay or Amazon instead of driving to the dumb dealership. Thanks.

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
Car: 2013 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

I've heard them called a bunch of different names, but most Nissans don't use them. DPC doesn't show any in the '09 Rogue drawings, front or rear, and I don't recall any of the Rogues using them. Sure you're not mixing it up with another vehicle?

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

PS - The most common names are probably Spindle Nut Cage or Spindle Nut Retainer.

casperfun

Ok thanks Vstar, my ocd was kicking in because I was watching YouTube. Apparently 2010 didn’t have one like in the pine hollow video.

But in the auto fix pal video with the 2012 had one as shown. Moreover, 1A auto also had one which was again a 2012.

Just wanted to be safe. I just tried to say to myself that the cotter pin was enough. My only worry was it could loosen with my luck.

I’m in the process of replacing a split inner boot and replacing the outer boot while also in there as preventive maintenance.

Didn’t mean any offense with my speculation. :rotz:

VStar650CL
Technical Expert
2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 S

casperfun wrote:
Sun Mar 28, 2021 8:16 am
Didn’t mean any offense with my speculation. :rotz: