UR Underdrive Pulley

Got questions about your Nissan? We're here to help, and it's FREE!
jpalm
Car: Cars, Motorcycles...SPEED!

Before I fork out $200 in a Group Buy for this pulley on a Spec V I wanted to get some feedback on whether there is any drawback to this. I know that it gives something in the range of 7HP due to reducing parisitic loss but does it effect anything negatively (ie. running accessories...my stereo is the RF stock system).

I'm kinda new to tuning (at 31!) but I want to keep this car as a project tuner.

Also is this basically a easy installation? I believe that I have all the tools necessary.

Thanks for your input! :D

johnsharpe
Car: Car, Motorcycles, technology

Friends have done this on various Mustangs and the only negative that I can remember is the the accessories (alternator, A/C, p/s, etc) run slower.

You may also have to get different belts, but other than that, it's a easy swap (at least on a 'stang).

Good luck,John

EZcheese15
Car: 2012 Juke SV
2011 Titan Pro-4X
2007 BMW 328i

I think the stock drive belt will work because you have only one serpentine belt and it has a spring loaded tensioner. Also, since you are only changing the crank pulley, it's not *that* big of difference I wouldn't think to require a different size belt.

But then again, who knows, I don't have one so I can't say :)

QuinGarcia

The person to ask is the manufacturer, call their tech support before you buy. I would think that they would engineer it so that it would work fine on street cars. I'm assuming that they realize that your car is by no means a race car and will be driven on the street and must maintain street manners. I've heard of other people doing this and no one's had a problem. But, like he other fella, I have never heard of it on your specific car.However, I can imagine that your alternator's output at idle will be slightly reduced. If your alt. is only borderline now for your huge stereo system, maybe it could cause a problem

EZcheese15