Tuning Basics

A place to discuss the systems and methods of tuning Nissan engines.
float_6969
Car: CA18DET swapped 1995 Nissan 240sx (too many mods to list)
2015 SV Leaf w/QC & Bose (daily)

If you are wanting to start tuning your setup, and have a piggyback/chip burner/romulator/standalone, but don't know what you need to be aiming for, this FAQ with help answer your questions.

I have been tuning engines for friends and myself for a few years now. I'm by no means an expert, but I have a moderate amount of experience, I understand the combustion process very well, and have had very good results with everything I've tuned. I have the most experience with RaceTech's EM4-F, but I have also tuned motec, emanage, SAFC, and with a romulator.

Lets start with some definitions;
BDC: Bottom Dead Center. The position of the piston when it's at it's lowest point in the cylinder.
TDC: Top Dead Center. The position of the piston is at it's highest point in the cylinder.
BTDC: Before Top Dead Center. Usually in degrees of crank angle, this is the position of the piston in the cylinder bore before it reaches TDC.
ATDC: After Top Dead Center. Usually in degrees of crank angle, this is the position of the piston in the cylinder bore after it reaches TDC and is descending towards BDC.
NOT: Normal Operating Temperature. This is the temperature the motor stays at once it is fully warmed up.
WOT: Wide Open Throttle. The throttle is fully depressed.