Terrible performance and Gas tank Pressure

1980-1986 Datsun 720 forums. All 720-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
TaeHasA720
Car: 1982 Nissan Datsun

So i got my 82 Datsun 720 when i graduated from high school around 2013 it ran great until i had to smog it vac lines are hooked up new plugs Cap, rotar, oil change, my dad put his old carburetor onto it since he was parting it out. When i open the gas tank pressure shoots out everytime and my truck acts as if its starving for gas after about 5 miles. ive seen posts about this stuff except for the gas tank pressure im pretty young and im about tired of it lol, because as we all know the only way to figure a datsuns problem out is to do a full tune up. Ive done that but the pressure is still there and it dosent seenm to be going anywhere. Please let me know you previous experiences if youve came across these problems.

frapjap
Car: '99 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am
'07 Subaru Legacy

Welcome to NICO! Way to keep it in the family!
I'll try to get you some help with your truck.

In the mean time, check out the link in my signature. It has a Factory Service Manual for most years and models. You may be able to find some potential solutions in there!

PapaSmurf2k3
Site Admin
Car: 2017 Corvette, 2018 Focus ST, 1993 240sx truck KA Turbo.

Not sure if those had carbon canisters or not, but that's usually the first place to look.
Does it run normally if you drive around with the cap loose?

AZhitman
Administrator
Car: 58 L210, 63 Bluebird RHD, 64 NL320, 65 SPL310, 66 411 RHD, 67 WRL411, 68 510 SR20, 75 280Z RB25, 77 620 SR20, 79 B310, 90 S13, 92 SE-R, 92 Silvia Qs, 98 S14.

Welcome aboard Tae!

Let's start right here. This looks like a lot of work, but I'm almost positive you'll find the issue lies in this area:

http://www.nicoclub.com/archives/nissan ... guide.html

TaeHasA720
Car: 1982 Nissan Datsun