Reviving an 84 300ZX, 50th anniversary edition

A home for 1983–1989 300ZX owners!
m610
Car: Opel GT, the Tinyvette. ;)

I am totally new to Nissans. I normally wrench on and race Opels. These cars are generations apart. Dual DCOEs are not dual turbos. ;)

I'm helping a friend get his car going. It had been parked for years and it starts and drives, but with issues.

Issue 1 is sometimes the car starts right up, other times not at all.

Issue 2, the transmission (automatic) does not engage until he revs the engine to pretty danged high. Once it is rolling it seems to drive normally. I figure the torque converter is okay but something else is not right, a solenoid maybe?

I'll have the car here tomorrow and at that time I'll have a better change to look it over.

Any tips for someone just now getting their hand dirty on this car?

Thanks, Mike

P.S. I could not download the FSM.

SirNibbles
Car: 1986 Nissan 300ZX (Z31) VQ35DE

Issue 1- is the starter cranking at all when it doesn't start?

m610

Turns out it starts up pretty easy, and the engine sounds healthy. The speedometer is showing 0 kph and the oil pressure gauge reads 0, but I figure it's the sender or gauge, not the motor.

The transmission slips, a lot. I'm not sure if it was tires or transmission that generated all the smoke when I drove it onto the trailer. I'll check fluids and such tomorrow.

There is a minor knock noise near the power steering pump, and the wipers won't turn off. This should be fun.

Mike

m610

I spent a bit more time on the car, cleaning and inspecting. The fan shroud was beat up so I removed it, using tin snips.

The engine starts and runs fine. So that is good. I still can't track down the noise, and I can't find the vacuum pump because I don't know what it looks like. I really need an FSM. But I was able rule out the power steering pump. I hope it's not a frayed timing belt.