Remove starter on my 97 Q45

A Q45 forum / Cima forum for the President of Infiniti's lineup. Brought to you by Infiniti Parts USA, your OEM source for Q45 parts!
mdbell
Car: 97 Infiniti Q45

Hey all! I am new to Infinity and this forum.

I have had my Q45 for about 2 years and it has 109k miles. Really no problems so far, but now I need to replace my starter. My hubby and I are big time DIY. He has extensive mechanical knowledge (we replaced the starter on my daugher's 00 Maxima last May), but not on Infinity -- he's a die-hard Mopar guy --what can I say.

Anyway, he is having trouble figuring out how to remove the old starter. He crawled under the Q last night and said it looks like you have to drop the R&P to get the starter off--Ugghh. Is it money well spent to pay someone to install the starter we already bought? Or can someone give me the basics of getting the dead starter out?

Also, any recommendations on a good repair manual would be appreciated. Maybe even one we could download so we can get my baby up and running ASAP.

Thanks

goody90q45
Car: 1992 Q45 (sold)

Welcome to NICO. We have a nice welcoming gift for new members- A copy of the 1998 Factory Service Manual (same as the 97 FSM). Enjoy.

http://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/Q45/1998_Q45/

mdbell
Car: 97 Infiniti Q45

AWESOME! Thanks, Mike. I will take a look right now. I bet we can get the info we need from this link.

bullittandy
Car: 2003 Q45, 70K miles, 1999 Q45 touring 180K miles, 1997 Q45 270K miles, (sold), 1997 Q45 186K miles (junk-sold)

I pulled the starter from my 97 parts car and i remember pulling the rack as well. I think it was mandatory but also easy. To make it worth your while you could replace the rack bushings as a preventative measure.

Good luck!

srwood1
Car: 1997 Infiniti Q45t