Recommendations for removing light scratches on windshield?

From wax to washes, the Detailing Forum should be used for questions and ideas concerning exterior and interior cleaning and appearance
szh
Car: 2018 Tesla Model 3.

Unfortunately, no longer a Nissan or Infiniti, but continuing here at NICO!

Hi, all.

My son is kinda upset that he used a kitchen sponge (with a scratchy surface too) to remove bugs from his windshield and side windows on his 15 year old BMW. Needless to say, the resulting scratches and haziness is not something he can live with - particularly when driving into the sun.

I am hoping an optical-grade Cerium Oxide polish with a felt pad and drill mount will help remove these scratches without damaging the glass further (damn expensive to replace!).

But, I am not an expert here, so would appreciate advice and recommendations.

Thanks much!

Z

macgiver

Why not price out professional / mobile windshield buffer , couple of bids . And if you have them do just the front , 1) they'll get it right or don't get paid , 2) picking their brains and/or observing their "products" AND their tools and work procedure NOW you or son can do it best yourselves on any other SIDE windows , you know.
But the front , your right will show ALL THE CRAP and must be right! Ought not to be too expensive , you say "Light scratches" , stress that when you solidify a price ONLY after they actually see this "LIVE & IN COLOR" . :lolling:

Tip: I don't know what SPAM sponge is , they won't either ? And probably use that against you in $$$$$$$ saying how F#&%#$d - up that is your super-bad scratch you did .Don't mention it . What's a SPAM sponge ??

Q451990
Car: 1990 Q45 - 118K, 2022 Toyota 4 Runner, 2004 Frontier M/T - 108K, 2012 Xterra (Mom's), 2023 Rogue (Inlaws)

It might be worth trying some Barkeeper's Friend to see if that helps.

Larz
Car: 2019 Q70-L RWD