Rear wheel removal on 521

1965-1971 Datsun 521 forums. All 520 and 521 topics and discussion can be found here.
frankazin
Car: 1971 Datsun 521

I just bought a 1971 Datsun 521 because my wife had one in college. We plan to slowly rebuild it. It runs very well, has a few rust spots (although the bed is tight and rust free?) and a pretty gutted interior. But it has some real potential. I almost forgot to mention that two owners back exchanged the 1600 engine for an 1800. My first problem is probably a dumb one but I am new to this; a wheel stud is broken off on the right rear. How do I get the wheel off? I have never encountered one quite like this. The tire and wheel are off and the hub is a mystery. It has two raised "slots" spaced about a half inch apart that look like they should be turned (counter-clockwise?) to reach the center, but they won't budge. Is it just stuck or am I doing the wrong thing entirely. Can anyone help?

By the way, I just found the site and just registered. My wife and I just moved into a rural community East of Albuquerque after spending the last 25 years in the Midwest. We are now retired and close to where we started out.

Frankazin

Jefe De Jefes

tire and wheel off?Remove brake drum , pound out the broken stud and replace with a good one.

Brake drum not coming off? There is an adjuster on the backside towards the bottom. Turn that so the brake shoes retract from the drum then pull it off. You might have to tap the drum with a hammer if it's still stuck.

frankazin