Radiator fan turns on when cold

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
QX4ME
Car: 02 Infiniti QX4 4WD
11 MB C300 Sports
06 Honda Odyssey

I am sorry if this topic is already discussed; I am not good at searching.
My 2002 QX4 cooling fan turns on every time the engines is turned on first time in the morning, AC is not turned on. I never paid attention to it until recently.
So far the car has no issues, everything works fine, and MPG is the same as before. Time it takes to reach the normal temperature is about the same, not much longer due to the fan cooling the radiator when it is not needed.

I like you expert to let me know if this is normal or not?

Thank you.

fastpakr
Car: 2001 QX4

Is anything on that could engage the A/C separately (defrost, etc)?

QX4ME
11 MB C300 Sports
06 Honda Odyssey

Thank you for the quick reply.
I will check it out after work. Normally I keep everything off.

mdmellott
Car: '13 Kia Soul+ 2.0L AT
'02 Pathfinder SE 3.5L AT P/4WD

Your radiator cooling fan, like mine on my '02 Pathfinder, does not "turn on". The fan will always passively spin when the engine is cold but then it will fully engage when the thermal activated clutch coupling the fan is mounted to heats up to a set temperature. Our fans do not have an electric motor. If your fan is fully engaged at start up when the engine is cold, then your clutch coupling is worn out, locked up, and needs to be replaced. The Infiniti/Nissan part number is 21082-6P00A. Infiniti Parts Deal has it at less than dealership costs. https://www.infinitipartsdeal.com/parts ... 5DE;3=USA)
Aftermarket replacements at RockAuto and Amazon are also available at even lower prices but I have no idea what the quality of these are like.

QX4ME
11 MB C300 Sports
06 Honda Odyssey

Wow, thank you mdmellott.
When I start the "cold" car, the fan looks to me is at full speed. What confuses me is it does not take long for temperature needle to reach normal operation temperature.