Question about wiring in your home

Home project-related forums. Woodworking, home improvement, landscape, and cooking discussion forum. Yeah, car guys cook.
breadbox
Car: Red 89 240sx,Black 89 Koop, White 84 720 4x4KC

I think we have aluminum wiring. We are going to be fixing up the house. Isn't alu wiring common for house fires?

Should we even consider rewiring the house? I have know Idea how its done but just wondering what people have to say.

What kind of wiring is the best?

Buzzman
Car: 2017 Mazda 6 GT
2023 Kia Stinger Elite V6 AWD.

A few things you may want to know about aluminum wiring.(I'm a semi-retired contractor/handyman, so I have a fair bit of experience.)Aluminum wiring was used for about a five year period in the early 70's.Mostly due to cost. It was cheaper than copper at the time.Aluminum (AL) wire is always one gauge larger than copper.Standard copper wiring is 14 gauge, while AL is 12.The reason for that is AL does not conduct electricity as well as copper, so it has to be bigger.The other thing is that AL is softer than copper, and thus more difficult to work with. It breaks easier.If AL wiring is installed properly, then it is not a fire hazard. The key word here being PROPERLY. Most new installs were done properly by the original builders.The big issue with this stuff today is the DIY homeowner who thought he knew what he was doing, and started to modify and change his house wiring. This is usually where the problems start.For starters, you HAVE to have special outlets, plugs and connectors designed for AL wiring. If you look at the labels on plugs and outlets (say at Home Depot), it will tell you whether you can use it with AL wiring. If it says for CU only, then don't use it. 99% of DIY people just ignore it, and use them anyway. Big mistake. That's a fire waiting to happen.The other main issue I see all the time is mixing the two together.The DIY home owner will add copper wiring to his house, and splice it in with the existing AL. You