Possibly buying 95 Pathfinder Tomorrow

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
redhat-z

Wife smashed Q45 yesterday. Found 95 Pathfinder XE 4x4 with 120k miles. Clean! Perfect interior. Timing belt, tensioners, and water pump changed at 77k. I have verified this with the previous owner. Talked the dealer down to $3300. They let me take it for the night as a courtesy vehicle. The front wheels have a slight squeak when moving forward that just doesn't sound like worn brake pads. Transmission shifts real smooth. Under the hood, sounds like a valve follower needs to be adjusted. I have some years experience with nissans but not pathfinders or the VG30E.

Does anyone have any opinions and/or suggestions on what to look and listen for either now or in the future?

maxima278
Car: 96 240SX SR20, 69 Ford Pickup, 99 Dodge Ram 1500, 1996 Nissan Maxima, 1997 Nissan Maxima project, 89 Coupe shell

I've owned 3 of this body style pathfinder and shopped extensively for the third one I just recently bought. What you're hearing under the hood may possibly be an exhaust leak at the manifold. With the exception of the one I just bought which has upgraded studs on the manifold, every single one that I looked at, along with both of the ones I owned previously, had this problem. A mechanic will fix those exhaust studs for about $100. It's much better to pay him than to do it yourself. I know this because I've done both. Maximas with the VG30E (89-94) have the same problem.

I was in love with the first one I had, which is why I bought the second and third, and even though it's not the fastest thing in the world, it's a very endearing vehicle. I prefer the manual transmission models, but they are rare and could take a while to find.