Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
User avatar
Leo2005
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:36 am

Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue

Postby Leo2005 » Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:50 am

Well I don't have too many pics but I'll show you guys what I have and what wires you will need to connect for that navigation system. Any project starts with the beer and it doesnt matter which one. The top cover of combination meter can be removed just by pulling up with hands and no tools required. After that theres a small plastic piece under the meter that can be removed with screw driver. Under the meter you will find 2 screws that holds the whole panel.This is the wire for the speed sensor that highly recommended to connect to the system.Make sure you have a good connection with it by connecting provided T-clip. After connecting speed sensor(yellow wire) you will need to connect the parking brake (purpule wire) to have all the features available on your unit. If you would like to bypass blocking videos while driving then you will have to connect parking brake wire and mute wires to the ground.Under the fuse panel from drivers side you can find a piece of plastic that can be pulled up probably with the help of screwdriver where you will find a bunch of wires including the reverse light.Make sure you found the right one before connecting the wire by checking voltage.Put everything back together. Follow the instructions how to remove the audio console and how to put a new radio in the new dash kit. I didn't post pictures on that part because you will get step by step instructions as soon as you buy dash kit and wiring kit. Bluetooth, XM and other adapters can be putted under the unit. The GSM and XM antennas could be going throw plastic piece around the windshield and does not have to be installed on the back of the car as it says in instructions of the pioneer.


ozymandyaz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:39 am
Car: Nissan Rogue SL AWD in Black

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (Leo2005)

Postby ozymandyaz » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:32 am

Hey!

Thanks for the info! I had the D3 installed about a week ago but now I need to get back behind the unit and run some AUX input cables...

I have read the metra instructions on how to get the Climate controls and Vents out but all it said to do was un-clip and remove... Is it really as easy as just pulling really hard?

rboyd1780
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:16 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (Leo2005)

Postby rboyd1780 » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:21 am

Did you have to buy an aftermarket part to keep your steering wheel controls?

ozymandyaz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:39 am
Car: Nissan Rogue SL AWD in Black

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (rboyd1780)

Postby ozymandyaz » Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:10 am

I do not have steering wheel controls but I believe you need an adapter to keep them working.

philipa_240sx
Posts: 4138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Canada

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (ozymandyaz)

Postby philipa_240sx » Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:16 am

Peripheral Electronics has a steering wheel interface for the Rogue, the PESWIPS:

http://www.peripheralelectronics.com/default.aspx

Hint: The Rogue is not listed via the selection on the main page, but it is listed if you goto the 'Instruction Manual' link for the PESWIPS and do a search for the Rogue:

http://www.peripheralelectronics.com/pr ... &YearId=32

I have not tested this, but when cross referencing Peripherals wiring instructions with the FSM it does appear to be correct.

Good luck!
Last edited by Rogue One on Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fix link

boooey
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:52 pm

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (philipa_240sx)

Postby boooey » Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:28 am

nice!

I really like it.. but maybe I am too used to the stock radio, a part of me thinks that Pioneer kinda looks out of place in the rogue.. i dunno

its hard to explain, its just doesn't look right to me.. maybe its just mebut i'd love to have all the functionality of that radio though

User avatar
Leo2005
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (ozymandyaz)

Postby Leo2005 » Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:31 pm

Panels are very easy to pull but you have to help yourself with screwdriver...that's all. Don't have the controls on my wheel so didn't look for any adapter.

ccameselle
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:13 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (Leo2005)

Postby ccameselle » Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:21 am

Hey Leo,

I have an Xterra 2005. I am trying to find out if my car comes with an speed sensor. Now they told me that it depends on the type of radio that you have. So my question is: Did you have the top of the line stereo in your car or did you have the regular? Thank you in advanced for your help

Carlos

droopy170
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:34 pm
Car: 08 Rogue S Indigo Blue

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (ccameselle)

Postby droopy170 » Sat Apr 26, 2008 3:46 am

And
ccameselle wrote:Hey Leo,

I have an Xterra 2005. I am trying to find out if my car comes with an speed sensor. Now they told me that it depends on the type of radio that you have. So my question is: Did you have the top of the line stereo in your car or did you have the regular? Thank you in advanced for your help

Carlos
And how does it sound?droopy

philipa_240sx
Posts: 4138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Canada

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (ccameselle)

Postby philipa_240sx » Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:49 am

ccameselle wrote:Hey Leo,

I have an Xterra 2005. I am trying to find out if my car comes with an speed sensor. Now they told me that it depends on the type of radio that you have. So my question is: Did you have the top of the line stereo in your car or did you have the regular? Thank you in advanced for your help

Carlos
He has no steering wheel controls so it's the base stereo system with no speed sensitive volume control.

The 2 optional stereos (Mid-level and BOSE) came with a steering wheel controls and speed sensitive volume.

jklph
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:52 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (Leo2005)

Postby jklph » Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:08 pm

where in the manual can i find the color coding of the wires? i'm looking for the wire for the reverse lamp. i am planning to install a back up camera.


User avatar
Leo2005
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (ccameselle)

Postby Leo2005 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:34 am

ccameselle wrote:Hey Leo,

I have an Xterra 2005. I am trying to find out if my car comes with an speed sensor. Now they told me that it depends on the type of radio that you have. So my question is: Did you have the top of the line stereo in your car or did you have the regular? Thank you in advanced for your help

Carlos
What exactly do you mean? If you talking about bose system from premium package then no I don't have the premium. Speed sensor you can find behind the speedometer by looking at service manual. Service manual will all the wires.

User avatar
Leo2005
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (droopy170)

Postby Leo2005 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:39 am

droopy170 wrote:AndAnd how does it sound?droopy
It sounds a lot lot better. Loud and very clear sound. I'm really happy that I upgraded the factory radio with that toy.

philipa_240sx
Posts: 4138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Canada

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (jklph)

Postby philipa_240sx » Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:23 am

jklph wrote:where in the manual can i find the color coding of the wires? i'm looking for the wire for the reverse lamp. i am planning to install a back up camera.
Please start another post as this is completely different topic.

User avatar
Leo2005
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (philipa_240sx)

Postby Leo2005 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:25 am

philipa....I don't think this is a different topic. This is part of the installation a nav unit. Even I included the pictures of the wire for reverse light that located under a fuse box.

User avatar
rogueboy
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 9:03 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (Leo2005)

Postby rogueboy » Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:10 am

You are using the Metra dash kit right? I am having fitment issues - any hints??

User avatar
Leo2005
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (rogueboy)

Postby Leo2005 » Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:24 pm

me too. I had problems at the bottom. But I already sold the unit because I'm waiting for azentek carputer. After that I'm buying the kit from somewhere else. You can try put something between the screw and the hole but I couldn't make it perfect.

dj kev e g
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:05 pm
Car: 08 Nissan Pathfinder

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue (philipa_240sx)

Postby dj kev e g » Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:08 pm

i have an 08 pathfinder

and i am installing a after market stereo (jensen)

and it blocks the video while the car is in motion

is it true if i wire the park break wire to the ground and audio mute it will solve my problem?

philipa_240sx
Posts: 4138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Canada

Re: 08 pathfinder airbag light (dj kev e g)

Postby philipa_240sx » Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:04 pm

dj kev e g,

I would post the question about 'blocked video' in the Audio forums:

zeroforum?id=99

The airbag light has to be reset by the dealer. You might also be able to reset using a computerized scan tool.

dj kev e g
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:05 pm
Car: 08 Nissan Pathfinder

Re: 08 pathfinder airbag light (philipa_240sx)

Postby dj kev e g » Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:22 pm

thanks mate

do you know how to overide the park break problem most in dash dvd players have?

i have been told if i ground it that it will work....is this true

i know the long way of doing it by hooking it up to a toggle switch but i am looking for a simpler way........

nas0827
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 1:28 pm
Car: 2008 Rogue S AWD
Contact:

Postby nas0827 » Wed May 06, 2009 1:56 pm

How do you remove the gauge cluster to hook up the vss wire?

takeshi
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:55 am
Car: 2008 Nissan Rogue SL AWD
Location: Houston, TX

Re: (nas0827)

Postby takeshi » Wed May 06, 2009 2:02 pm

There's another thread that explains it.

User avatar
kerrton
Posts: 2201
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:48 am
Car: 2008 Nissan Rogue, SL FWD, Gotham Gray
Location: Southern Alberta, Canada

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue

Postby kerrton » Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:38 am

Hey Leo (and others), I'm interested in replacing my headunit myself, I don't have much experience but think I can handle this job.

Am I correct that:
a) The top panel above the headunit with the vents pops off quite easily by just prying with a screw driver
b) Step 2 is to pop off the HVAC control panel below the headunit - does this panel simply pry off easily? Then you simply unplug the control knobs and you're good to go?
c) How much room is there behind those panels, in addition to installing a new head unit I'd like to install a Sirius direct connect unit, which consists of a box about 3 or 4 inches long by maybe 2 inches wide - I may have to find a creative spot up under the footwell panels to hide the box...your thoughts?

Thanks a lot in advance for any comments.

philipa_240sx
Posts: 4138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Canada

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue

Postby philipa_240sx » Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:39 am

Kerrton,

My Clarion HU is still available. I haven't managed to sell it yet.

User avatar
Leo2005
Posts: 1379
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:36 am

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue

Postby Leo2005 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:57 pm

kerrton wrote: Am I correct that:
a) The top panel above the headunit with the vents pops off quite easily by just prying with a screw driver
b) Step 2 is to pop off the HVAC control panel below the headunit - does this panel simply pry off easily? Then you simply unplug the control knobs and you're good to go?
I didn't even unplug control knobs but pushed them away slightly.
kerrton wrote: c) How much room is there behind those panels, in addition to installing a new head unit I'd like to install a Sirius direct connect unit, which consists of a box about 3 or 4 inches long by maybe 2 inches wide - I may have to find a creative spot up under the footwell panels to hide the box...your thoughts?
There's a lot of space and while replacing my avic-d3x with avic-x910bt I have included XM adapter so the HD adapter as well. Now I want avic-z130 since HD is already integrated and I can start using pandora radio.
Just a tip for Android owners...on ebay you can find some cheap imitations made for specific cars but throw bluetooth you can have any internet station right on your speakers so no need to pay for example for xm radio which is pretty cool in my opinion.

J-wood
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 9:35 pm
Car: 2011 Nissan rogue s

Re: Pioneer AVIC-D3X in Rogue

Postby J-wood » Sun Jul 03, 2011 10:18 pm

if anyone has an old HU for a nissan rogue for a 2011 that is the sl model or up please let me know i would like to have it thanks


Return to “Rogue Forum”