Outline of pinstripes after removal

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
JJM158
Car: 2007 Infiniti M35 S

I had pinstripes removed as they were not my taste and doing so I noticed an outline of where they were, picture for visual:https://ibb.co/tbKC9yz. The surrounding clearcoat is faded and the clear underneath the pinstripe is darker, so I would assume 2 step polishing would cut down the old faded clearcoat to the level that was under the pinstripe. Sorry if not explained properly. Maybe went sand with fine grit then polish?

Tobiascolins
Car: 2007 Infiniti m35x

The right way would be to use a buffer or take it to a body shop and have them buff it. Hand buffing won't be effective enough.

Chunjee
Car: Infiniti M45

I believe a 2 step machine polish would help significantly.

Tobiascolins

The polish may help a bit but the fading the sun causes may be too much of a difference from the shiny surface that was under the stripe. I worked as a painter for a long time. I would definitely get it properly buffed and while they do that you might as well have them do the whole car. It'll freshen up the paint. Buffing will achieve a much higher gloss than hand rubbing a two stage polish. The $20 you spend on that polish could be put towards a proper buffing job. They may want $150 or something to do it but it'll be done correctly.

JJM158

I would machine polish sorry didn't mean by hand that isn't realistic. I'd start with a heavy compound then finish with a final polish to restore haze and gloss

Tobiascolins

Yes, definitely.

JJM158

Any heavy cut compounds recommend. I might have to use a microfiber pad as I've tried a foam and didn't cut a good

Tobiascolins