Offered sponcership. opinions?

General discussion forum about the 240sx, and a great place to introduce yourself to the board!
User avatar
tl1000sga
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:53 pm
Car: anything with wheels, and somethings without.

Post

I've been offered a $10,000 per year co - op sponcership. At first I couldn't believe it, but I have since gotten the contract and I'm not sure after reading it. In parts of the contract there are clauses saying that I have to go to them first for all parts, fabrication, and labor. And they want me to be a scout for them. I'm going to have my lawyer take a look at it, but it's starting to make my wonder if its worth all the hastle. And, I plan on doing 90% of the work myself, so if that clause won't allow that then I'll deffinately be ripping it up. On the plus side, if I work hard at it it could be my ticket to the show and race circuit. They even told me that if everything works out I could make thier payroll full time or a contractor for them. It sounds like a dream come true to me, but I'm not in a position to take these kind of risks right now. I guess everything has it's price.:freak


User avatar
HongKongChick
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 3:10 pm
Car: Nissan 1992 Flying Chicken
Contact:

Post

man, i wanna congrat u on being offered!! but then u are kinda ify on that, so....

but i think it's wise to have a lawyer look at it, i mean unless u are 100% certain and trust them so so much...

but getting alll the parts from them wouldnt be a bad deal though :D

good luck

User avatar
93semax
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 3:12 am

Post


User avatar
tl1000sga
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:53 pm
Car: anything with wheels, and somethings without.

Post

Yes, that's where I originally applied.:D

User avatar
tl1000sga
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:53 pm
Car: anything with wheels, and somethings without.

Post

Wow, Chick, YOU'RE HOT! :eek:

But I'm sure you hear that all the time though. :D

Thanks for the congrats.

ace135cc
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 12:29 pm
Car: 95 240sx

Post

from your description, would it happen to be from racerx?

User avatar
tl1000sga
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:53 pm
Car: anything with wheels, and somethings without.

Post

Yes, why?:confused:

Phongie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 2:08 pm

Post

whoa hey chick i remember u from superhonda.com i thought u had a honda? so u gotten smart and bought urself a nissan now huH? :D well man... if u really wanna make ur car nice go for the deal 10gs/year ain't so bad to put all into the car right?

ace135cc
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 12:29 pm
Car: 95 240sx

Post

tl1000sga wrote:Yes, why?:confused:
just wondering, my friend has one from them also. they seem pretty cool.

midnight brother
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 2:07 pm

Post

I think its a scam. What kind of sponsorship makes you pay in order order to be approved. A sponsorship pays for you not the other way around.

IneedMoney
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:16 am
Car: car

Post

scam!!!!!

cornkillerS14
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 10:10 pm

Post

oh yeah its a scam. i have that sponsorship on my solara too. however, they price they quote me were all expensive then my local hook up and also i need to pay up shipping and hadling. funny, thats what they so called "sponsorship". i just file a scam on a international web stie to against them but they dont wanna refund me my 75 deposit.

User avatar
tl1000sga
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:53 pm
Car: anything with wheels, and somethings without.

Post

Well, you don't have to pay to get approved, you have to pay the "fees" if they offer it to you and you sign the contract. Thanks for all of you for the info though, I'll be checking into it more before I sign the contract. :icon18

Silent Drifter
Posts: 1357
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:11 am
Car: '93 Nissan hatch
'90 Nissan coupe
'96 Ford Ranger
Looking for a bike!

Post

Yea does any one know for sure if this is a scam or not?

Cyberkreig
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 4:40 pm
Car: 1993 Nissan 240SX SR
Contact:

Post

they arent a scam. They are a wholesale club. You arent getting sponsored, you are getting the right to buy from them.. at the same price, or higher, than you can get at any online retailer.

Silent Drifter
Posts: 1357
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:11 am
Car: '93 Nissan hatch
'90 Nissan coupe
'96 Ford Ranger
Looking for a bike!

Post

so is it worth it or no?

RyanT
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 9:59 am

Post

but there giving u 10g's a year to buy from them?

Cyberkreig
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 4:40 pm
Car: 1993 Nissan 240SX SR
Contact:

Post

You wish they were giving you 10g's.

take for example.. an APEXI n1 DUAL exhaust. Said exhaust might list for $650 (madeup number). if they tell you they will give it to you for$550, that means you pay $550, they paid $100 out of your 10k.

Onizuka
Posts: 8450
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 5:24 pm
Car: 91 Nissan S13 coupe SR20DET
89 Nissan S14 hatch SR20DE

Post

um yeah, real sponsership doesnt involve internet stores. Im helping right now with sponsership on my formula SAE team and unless your getting your sponsership up front, its not real. For example, the team im on got sponsered by goodyear again this year, so they send us racing slicks for free, and we didnt have to pay one cent.

A company doesnt just give out $10,000 a year for a ordinary car. Sponserships are about getting something back out of the team/person your sponsering.

User avatar
HongKongChick
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 3:10 pm
Car: Nissan 1992 Flying Chicken
Contact:

Post

Phongie wrote:whoa hey chick i remember u from superhonda.com i thought u had a honda? so u gotten smart and bought urself a nissan now huH? :D well man... if u really wanna make ur car nice go for the deal 10gs/year ain't so bad to put all into the car right?


hehe..i still go there, but i never owned a honda though.... i was interested in the CRX, but then i got another love..the S13..so...:D

Nathan
Posts: 5629
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 6:43 am

Post

HKC ain't no man...just check that sig ;)

GoukiS14
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 12:40 pm
Car: GTR
2000 gs400

Post

yeah I don't want wholesale cost I get wholesale cost anyway from my friend's shop.... (partial sponsorship), they make it seem like it's a full sponsorship... I'm gonna call them monday and find out what's going on cuz I got "sponsored" too if it was you guys say I'm gonna tell em I want my $ back and that they are full of **** for misleading advertising

Nathan
Posts: 5629
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 6:43 am

Post

At which point they'll probably tell you you should have read the fine print and to forget getting your money back. I hope not though. Call the BBB if it IS a scam, or at least threaten that you will.

User avatar
tl1000sga
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:53 pm
Car: anything with wheels, and somethings without.

Post

J-Spec Tuner wrote:um yeah, real sponsership doesnt involve internet stores. Im helping right now with sponsership on my formula SAE team and unless your getting your sponsership up front, its not real. For example, the team im on got sponsered by goodyear again this year, so they send us racing slicks for free, and we didnt have to pay one cent.

A company doesnt just give out $10,000 a year for a ordinary car. Sponserships are about getting something back out of the team/person your sponsering.


This Racer X may be a scam, but I've had a co - op sponsership like this before. It was through a Capitol Cycle and the deal was the same, I got anything I needed at cost and free labor. And that was just for weekend stunt bike shows, so I know that there are sponserships like this out there.:freak

midnight brother
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 2:07 pm

Post

If you're really serious get a lawyer to look over it. Its extreme but its worth it.

User avatar
r34 gtr
Posts: 8909
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 9:33 am
Car: 98 Nissan Frontier XE 4x4
95.5 Audi URS6 Avant 5spd
03 BMW 330i ZHP 6spd
89 Nissan 240SX base CA18DET
Location: Creepin' in your crawl space
Contact:

Post

yeah, my friend somehow managed to get sponsored by dpr, and all he does is pay 1/2 price for all their stuff and slap one or two stickers or something on his car and go to one car show a year (something to that extent). anything that makes you pay is a scam i do believe, but if you are considering it, do what everyone says and get a lawyer to look over it. i have heard about those people before and they dont seem too good in my opinion.

GoukiS14
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 12:40 pm
Car: GTR
2000 gs400

Post

DPR still exists? I thought they went under... yeah but I get parts at cost anyways so what's the point in paying for parts... my friend used to work for signal so I get hard to get jdm parts too... anyway I called them and they said it's a little below cost so I'll see what's up... if anything I'll just slang parts....:D


Return to “240sx General Discussion”