o2Sensors vs Catalytic Convertor vs both

Discussion of Infiniti's amazing (and underrated) sport-luxury crossovers, the EX35 and EX37. For 2014, the EX series will be renamed QX50, in line with Ininfiit's new naming conventions.
kexmc35

I'm a bit of a rookie at this . I'll try to keep it brief. 2008 Ex 35 Journey, won't pass smog test, throwing codes P2A00. I can tell the difference in fuel consumption and overall performance, but the vehicle still runs smoothly. Had a Diagnostics done at Infiniti Dealership and was told "found bank one cat welds broken causing AF sensor to read out of range. Need to start by replacing cat and sensor. Vehicle is very rusty. May need to replace entire exhaust during repair. Minimum repair $1640. "
Because I am new in town and don't know which mechanics to trust here, I took the car to Meineke and got a diagnostics test. I never mentioned Infiniti's reading. Meineke read " Upstream AIr-Fuel Ratio Sensor" x2 for total of $841.64 including labor. Meineke mentioned NOTHING about the catalytic convertor or other exhaust needing replacement. As a matter of fact, when the Infiniti Dealership service manager verbally explained my diagnosis the only thing he said was that while replacing the o2 sensors they MIGHT need to replace the catalytic convertor due to rust. It wasn't until I called him back today that he explained that they claim to have discovered an actual crack in the exhaust and the cat convertor AND sensors had to be replaced simultaneously.
So who do I trust? Meineke or Infiniti? Wouldn't Meineke have mentioned the cat convertor and other rust? I am not interested in putting in unnecessary money into this vehicle as I would like to trade mid next year. I do however need to be able to pass a smog test soon. How do I know Infiniti isn't just trying to get more money out of me? Please advise

NJGuy
Car: 2008 Infiniti EX35 Journey AWD