No start no crank soo confused

ONLY for ADVANCED technical discussion about the 240sx!
KingLanD
Car: Nissan 240sx s13 1993

:wtf2: So I'm completely new to 240s(any car really), and dont really have anyone mechanically inclined to help me out... But basically my 1993 s13 wont crank or start. The power on the inside of the car works, but as soon as I turn the the key all the way over to start it it just kills the power to the inside but my headlights stay on...tried to jump it with cables and still nothing, replaced the terminals for the battery and got a new fuel pump relay, I've tried to push start it as well and it seems like my wheels lock up when I push the clutch in... Ive had quite a few people tel me its not my starter because the starter will usually make any kind of noise even if it is bad...mine doesn't make any at all. So I'm completely lost! I just want to drive this thing! Oh and had a homie helping me at one point and I guess he put the battery in wrong but I checked all my fuses and they are fine, checked for continuity?

macgiver

mac, hearing that the battery was put in wrong could have destroyed what is called a "fusible Link" , a kind of wire-fuse . Sometimes at or near starter , sometimes in the MAIN fuse panel - usually engine compartment. I would research if & where in your car they are (can be more than one,never know) . They look like a melted wire - because that's what they are.When they "blow" they frizzle-frazzle-burned :lolling:
You should get that out of the way first- whether any links are blown , come on back we take it from there.

KingLanD

I will check it out! Thanks mac!

macgiver

mac , hey KingLanD - I forgot to mention how some fusible links may have a case , a "housing" , or whatever
NOT SIMPLY LOOKING like a plain WIRE,like they maybe bolted across terminals or many times "moulded " & part of the END of a cable - terminating in an "Eye" terminal @ the starter. All types out there -good luck. :gapteeth:

amc49