Newbie here

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
PathManLE
Car: 2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE

Hey guys I just picked up a 2001 Pathfinder LE last night with 132k miles. It’s my first Nissan but my 3rd VQ motor (had a G35 and have a G37). The Pathfinder was a one owner garage kept and maintained at a Nissan dealer. From the records he gave me it looks like the radiator, valve cover gaskets, batter and alternator have all been replaced the past couple years. Just wondering what to expect with this truck... I’m thinking of replacing plugs and wires soon. The CD changer also doesn’t work, is there a way to fix it or should I just replace it? Thanks guys

heavy hitter
Car: 2001 QX4

The cd changer is a common issue and isn’t really fixable. The 2001 doesn’t have wires...it’s plugs and coil packs. You need to do the loctite on the powervalves of it hasn’t been done already and check the strut towers and subframe for rust. Also...why was the radiator replaced? These have an issue with the trans cooler in the radiator mixing trans fluid and coolant and causing all kinds of havoc

PathManLE

Thanks for the info, I figured the CD player wouldn’t be fixable. Does anyone know if I can get a new CD changer that looks stock and will fit in the same slot? What are the powervalves? I’m not sure why the radiator was replaced I’ll have to look at the work order again and see if it says anything. It runs and drives perfectly. The heat only comes out hot if I have the temp set to 80-85 so I’m not sure if it’s the thermostat, climate control or heater core...

heavy hitter

2001 have butterfly valves in the intake plenum there is a known issue where they can rattle loose and fall into the motor. They need to be loctite. The heater issue sounds like maybe the resistor

PathManLE

So its been a couple months with the Pathfinder and it has some issues...