New Member with few questions. 03 G35 Sedan

Got questions about your Infiniti? We're here to help, and it's FREE!
mysupratoy94
Car: 2004 G35 Sedan

Ok, so my 03 G35 Sedan suddenly shut off, no warning, just shut off, all electrical, power steering and breaks lost power. My radio station presets got erased as if the battery was removed. Turned it on, lasted about a minute then shut off again. Restarted car and was able to drive it to the dealership.

Long story short, it took them a few days to recreate that problem. They said it was the BC1 sensor... bank cam one sensor i guess.

Shouldnt I have gotten a check engine light for that sensor since its electrical?

Would that cause my engine to turn off and even cause my radio to loose its stations? Something doesnt sound right to me, but im not an expert.

Also, do they need to reflash the onboard computer when installing a new sensor. How much labor (time wise) is involved in replacing this sensor?

I recently changed the brakes on my car, this time not using the factory pads. I turned the rotors and got some brake pads at napa. The car brakes ok but not as tight as it used too. I bled the brakes as well... any other steps that im missing? I was used to the sensitive brake response and now its gone. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Q451990
Car: 1990 Q45 - 118K, 2022 Toyota 4 Runner, 2004 Frontier M/T - 108K, 2012 Xterra (Mom's), 2023 Rogue (Inlaws)

Welcome to NICO!

Dropping all electrical power including your radio presets points to something different to me... maybe something simple like a loose battery cable connection or other electrical issue at the battery or alternator. That said, I don't know for sure. Maybe an actual technician with G35 experience will come along and give us some insight.

As far as the brakes, switching back to the OEM pads should fix your problem. Always remember that brake pad performance works in a range that looks something like this.