New Member In Need Of Advice

Discuss topics related to the CA18DE and CA18DET series engines.
Douged
Car: 1990 Nissan Silvia S13 Q's | Ca18de |

Hello guys and gals. I'm a newbie to the Nico Club forum and I'm having some problems with my ca18de. Before I get into that I feel its only formal I introduce myself.

My name's Doug, I'm from QLD, Australia and I'm 16 years old. My car is a Nissan Silvia S13 and as you've probably gathered it has a ca18de.

Moving on. The problem I'm having has baffled me (Not hard, my knowledge as far as cars go is pretty slim). The car seems to be missing on idle and everywhere until around 1500rpm and then it runs like a charm although having a slight backfire type pop from the engine bay on hard gear changes.

The car is COMPLETELY Stock. I've recently just put in new coil packs(OEM) and new spark plugs and bumped the timing back to 15 from 20.

Something else to add (Not sure if relevant or not) is the car always had a slight miss although only when you were first on the throttle and then after that first little miss it was sweet, And then yesterday I checked the timing and noticed it was 5 degrees out (20) so I bumped it back to 15 and the car, on power ran considerably better although did have that consistent miss on idle and up until roughly 1500rpm. It also sometimes randomly idles at 400-500ish just out of the blue and other times sits comfortably at 900-1000ish

Someone suggested it could be an idle air valve of a leak in one of the manifold hoses so ill be sure to have a look at that tomorrow :)

If you have any questions please do ask and ill answer as best as I can. Ill try my best to supply a video tomorrow if needed.

Thanks in advance!! :dblthumb:

boost_boy
Car: B12 sentra w/built CA18DET, B12 sentra w/fully-built CA18DET, S13 coupe w/ CA18DET, S13 hatch w/CA18DET, 2002 maxima SE