New 2007 350Z - Can a GPS & Sub be Added to a base model?

Nissan 350z / Nissan 370z general community discussion forum
johnsal
Car: 2007 Nissan 350Z Coupe

I just bought a gray 2007 350Z. It has an automatic transmission, but no leather or other goodies the Touring model has.

Of course the first thing is a rear spoiler. The ones I have seen are either unpainted or black. Tips greatly appreciated.

Since there's no GPS and no subwoofer, I'd love to add them, as funds allow (no $9k mod budget for me - that's what I paid for the car!). Would this model of car have the wiring pre-installed, or does the Touring model have a different wiring harness? Are electrical schematics available?

I am an electrical engineer, so I am fairly comfortable trying to add these things myself - once I find them.

Besides eBay and Craigslist, where do you guys find used parts?

Also wondering if rims can be repaired. Terrible design when the first thing to hit a curb is your rim!

Are there any 350Z Clubs in the San Francisco Bay Area?

Thank you!

djwarner
Car: 1971 240Z Series I
2006 350Z

The OEM NAV unit only came with the BOSE radio system and has a different CANBUS/wire loom than yours.

I replaced the OEM radio with a 7" dvd/GPS unit from Eonon. Price was within your budget. While you can get connectors to plug into the Nissan system, there are none to connect the steering wheel inputs. I ended up splicing in bullet connectors into that wire bundle. This allows me to revert back to the OEM radio at any time. Also added a rearview camera. I did not add a 10" subwoofer behind the driver's seat, though it would not be that difficult to place a small amp in the same area. Run the wiring for the sub woofer/amp and rearview camera under the center console.