N-Dually Build Thread, Nissan 720 Dually

1980-1986 Datsun 720 forums. All 720-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
N-Dually
Car: 1986 Nissan 720 Dually

Hi All,
This is my first build thread so bear with me. I have this information on my blog also, but I am not sure if it would be proper forum etiquette to just post links to my blog. I will still add the link to each post at the end of each section.

I will try to keep the information here strictly technical. My blog will be more detailed ( http://hhocountry.com/nissan-dually/ ). So here goes...

It is a 1986 Nissan 720, Z24 - 4 cylinder (8 spark plugs), 5 speed manual, with a 1 ton dually rear end. It has been neglected and it was DISGUSTING in the cab!

The first thing I did was to drain and replace fluids and some other basic maintenance. This included:
  • Engine Oil / Filter
    Transmission Fluid
    Rear End Fluid
    Back Flush of Engine and Radiator
    Wiper Fluid
    Air and Smog Filter
Next, I gutted the interior. My Better Half helped me sow new "custom" seat covers and door panel covers out of my old BDU's. I will post a picture of the "new" door panel in a later update.

I also removed the headliner and used Rust-oleum Bed Liner on the bare metal.

I also bed lined the door jam, doors, and bumper.
Last edited by N-Dually on Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rev_D21
Car: 1986.5 D21 LB HD 2WD V6 5Speed
1991 D21 Reg 2WD Auto
1995 D21 Reg 2WD 5Spd
1996 D21 Reg 4WD 5Spd
2012 Versa 1.6S 5-Speed

Looks like an excellent start to a great project. Keep up the good work!

PEZi
Car: Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX Mitsubishi Racing Edition

Awesome man!

N-Dually

Here is the promised picture of the "new" door panel.

The new carpet for the cab floor is coming tomorrow! :)

fastboatman29212
Car: left this forum. Sold my truck.

Very nice!

MetalFab
Car: 1985 720 4x4 reg cab flatbed.