modding VQ series engine....

Discuss topics related to the VQ series engine.
carpediem50
Car: 06 black X 4wd, 6 spd. 94 mustang GT coupe 5spd.

I'm new to Nissans, and this is the first forum I visited. Just wondering what people are doing to mod their VQ's. I have an 06 Xterra, so I have the VQ40de? What is the limiting factor in the engine itself? The block? Pistons? Rods? Crank? What is the limiting factor in the drivetrain? I have the 6 speed manual.

Also, what kind of fly wheel hp are people pushing through their stock VQs with boost or nitrous.

Thanks all.

I appreciate any info.

audtatious
Car: 2017 Q60 Red Sport. Gone: 2014 Q50s, 2008 G37s coupe, 2007 G35s Sedan, 2002 Maxima SE, 2000 Villager Estate (Quest), 1998 Quest, 1996 Sentra GXE

NISMO has headers and CAI for the VQ40. Stillen has CAI and exhaust parts for the Xterra. SLR offers headers as well and there are cat-back systems that can help out. Nitrous is an easy way to add "on the fly" hp, but of course you have to deal with filling the bottle and keeping it heated. From what I have seen, there are no cam or internal mods at this point, but I will defer that to someone who has worked with a VQ40 and/or Xterra. For the most part, Xterra owners seem to do exterior and suspension mods than engine mods...

DJButton
Car: 2010 Nissan 240sx

There's always the superchared Xterra...

Sorry we missed your thread for two days!

Sil240

Are you looking for more torque for towing or what?What kind of power are you looking to make?What are you going to be using the truck for?

You should call Performance Motorsports.They work with mainly 350z's but they do all Nissans

Nealoc
Car: 95 Maxima