MODDING/Maintenance Questions For a 1993 Q45

A Q45 forum / Cima forum for the President of Infiniti's lineup. Brought to you by Infiniti Parts USA, your OEM source for Q45 parts!
illtww

HEY!!

I have some knowledge in modding. ( I own a 1990 AWD TSi and a 1993 Daytona IROC..)

But this Q45 has to be a little different. Not may jap v8’s you see everyday in America, so I am asking the experts..

This is my friend’s car and I rode in it and I almost crapped my pants. :) I WAS SOOO SUPPRISED at the power it had... Now to the point..

PLEASE REMEMBER THAT I AM ON A COLLEGE STUDENT BUDGET!!

Maintenance Questions......

1.It has 150k on it and I think it is about time for a FULL tranny flush. What kind of fluid do you recommend I flush it with? The machine at work uses DEXRON III but I doubt that is what it takes. Any upgraded fluids you recommend?

2.I know the power steering pump is whining... I saw on the forums that you recommended to use a turkey baster and flush it with ATF 3+? Like 6 Times or until pink?

3.Any other items to check at the high of a mileage? O2 sensors? Belts?

Now to the fun stuff...

MODS...

1.How free flowing is the STOCK exhaust system on this car? I was thinking of going 3" all the way back to a straight through muffler to reduce back pressure.. Can i loose the cat or is there an o2 sensor in it?

2.Air intake upgrade. I want to go CAI (pipe and filter...) any suggestions on pre-fabbed CAI's for this car?

4.JWT ecu. Do I need a TCU/ECU upgrade? How much for both and how much for the HP gains?

3.Shocks...Should I go wits Tokiko's? or maybe some KYB adjustables?

AZhitman
Administrator
Car: 58 L210, 63 Bluebird RHD, 64 NL320, 65 SPL310, 66 411 RHD, 67 WRL411, 68 510 SR20, 75 280Z RB25, 77 620 SR20, 79 B310, 90 S13, 92 SE-R, 92 Silvia Qs, 98 S14.

1) Mobil 12) Correct3) Yes, and other things as well - Search...