Making a Frankenstein......

A forum for owners and fans of the legendary Nissan Skyline and Nissan GTR.
240SX=fun4me!
Car: Stuff

OK, I'm definitely gonna get booed at, flamed, and have burning dogcrap in a bag thrown at me, but I am about to undertake a Frankenstein straight-shot car. I'll be honest, I've never done this before, but i have a friend who has that is going in this with me 50/50. He just put an LT1 corvette engine in a 2nd Gen. RX7 body.

Well anyways, this is what i am really here about: I am buying a beat up cheap Pontiac Fiero GT (500-1000$-ish) and ripping out all the extras(seats, dash, ventilation,etc.). From their I am installing a full rollcage.

'What does this have to do with Nissan?' you might be saying. Well here it is. I want to put this engine... http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors...46098

...In this car... http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors...=6419

I KNOW this is gonna be a horrendous amount of work (mostly frame fab and engine fitment) but I really want to do it...I mean, how many Fieros have Skyline swaps, seriosly. Not to mention the power to weight ratio involved.

Fiero's are Mid engine cars, and this is why I want to use this particular vehicle.

My question is: Is it possible for me to fit the Skyline engine into the rear...and match up the drivetrain? I know I'll need custom axles and all, and a new rear-end to handle the power, but I'm more worried about tranny-to-drivetrain compatability. I don't know enough about this motor or the drivetrain it comes with ( I have a 240SX only) but I am assuming this is the AWD version, which means that there shud be a 'drive?' output on the front and one for the rear tires. What I proposed to do was to turn the engine backwards and only use the front-wheel drives for it. But would that damage the tranny(since it might think the rear tires are slipping all the time?)

Well i will have many more questions to come, but first i need to start planning costs.