Maintainance costs

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
MattB
Car: 2001 Infiniti I30A

Is a Y34 M45 going to cost me a lot more to maintain than an I30 or I35? I'm not worried about major failures-that's what a warranty is for...but will things like brakes and stuff be outrageously expensive? I'm a college student and I can probably afford $1000/year in maintainance costs....

szh
Car: 2018 Tesla Model 3.

Unfortunately, no longer a Nissan or Infiniti, but continuing here at NICO!

MattB wrote:Is a Y34 M45 going to cost me a lot more to maintain than an I30 or I35? I'm not worried about major failures-that's what a warranty is for...but will things like brakes and stuff be outrageously expensive? I'm a college student and I can probably afford $1000/year in maintainance costs....
My guess is that the Y34 will be higher than the I30 or I35, but not more than 20% to 25%, I would think. Little things like more spark plugs, more injectors, etc., will up the regular maintenance costs for those changes.

Tires (at 18") are definitely more expensive (assuming stock rims for the Y34 and the I30/35.) I use 245/45-18 Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3 now and these are almost $1k for the four wheels (less cost than the stock OEM's, by the way!)

I recently received the coupon book from the local Infiniti dealer ... it is at home. So, I'll take a look later and see what their regular service costs are listed at for all the cars and post them here sometime soon.

I also have the details somewhere for how much my Y34 has cost me over the past few years ... I will look for that too.

Z

MattB

szhosain wrote:
My guess is that the Y34 will be higher than the I30 or I35, but not more than 20% to 25%, I would think. Little things like more spark plugs, more injectors, etc., will up the regular maintenance costs for those changes.