M35x 5at swap 7at

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
Nika885
Car: Infiniti m35

M35x 5at swap 7at

Postby Nika885 » Fri May 15, 2020 9:48 am

Hello all !

I have m35x vq35hr with 5at. I wanna instal 7at

Has anyone did it ?

Ilya
Car: 2011 M56x but I spend a lot of time on my 2015 Kawasaki Vulcan S. Former owner of a 2007 M35x. Also take care of my wife's 2016 QX60.

Re: M35x 5at swap 7at

Postby Ilya » Fri May 15, 2020 11:43 am

Not that I am aware of.

EniGmA1987
Car: '06 M35 Sport

Postby EniGmA1987 » Wed May 20, 2020 11:55 am

No one has done it, but I was interested in doing this too.
I am not an expert in transmissions or ECU stuff by any means, but I would have to guess that since we have a model hear of this car that uses the VQ35HR which is very similar to the VQ35DE, and it has a 7at transmission that the odds of getting it working would be good.
You would want to start by finding out if the bell housings are the same or not (they probably are). If the bell housings are not the same, then the trans wont just bolt right now and you would have to do some work adapting it to mount properly. If the bell housings are the same, next you probably want to look into the wiring harnesses for each transmission. Are they the same? Or what differences are there?