Lowered Cube comfort

Home of the Nissan Cube forum and CubeDriver.com
Square1
Car: 09 Cube

So, for those of you who have lowered your Cube with aftermarket springs, what do you think of it.

I know some of you have already done this and I'd like you to be as honest as you can about the ride quality, and bottoming out your shocks.

I plan to lower mine simply because I like the look. I'm not at all doing it for improved handling, if better handling is a by product then great. My Cube is going to be used as my daily driver, I don't race anymore so the aspect of improving handling is much lower on the list of importance than the ride.

I've been doing Sport Compacts for many years and one of the things that always made me cringe is how some people won't even be honest with themself. Often people will swear up and down that their lowered car's ride was very similar to stock. But when I ride in the car I find it pretty harsh or bouncy. Some people won't admit that their choice of springs were a bad choice, and since they're vested in what they bought they defend it regardless of the reality.

One of the things I've learned is that you can't always depend on brand name or price being the better choice.

I've done 100's of sport compact suspensions over a span of 10 years, many times a no name coil spring would ride and hold up better than the "High Dollar" competition and experience and information is the only true test.

I realize the Cube is a very new car so there's not a ton of data out there yet. But if those of you who are running on lowered springs would give me some good honest feedback I'd really appreciate it. - Dan

I don't want it slammed so coil overs aren't being considered, and living on a retirement income coil overs are cost prohibitive anyway.

damian666robin
Car: 2009 nissan cube