Local 720 z24 help in the Portland area

1980-1986 Datsun 720 forums. All 720-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
83720z24
Car: 1983 nissan 720 z24 king cab 2wd

I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, I am new to forums. My name is Erik and would like to meet up with someone in my area with extensive knowledge of 720s. Willing to pay for an hour or so of your time to go over my 83 720 project.
Thanks for your time

float_6969
Car: CA18DET swapped 1995 Nissan 240sx (too many mods to list)
2015 SV Leaf w/QC & Bose (daily)

Moved to 720 forum. You're more likely to get a response here.

waynosworld

What is your issue/problem?

83720z24

Idling high, around 2500 to 3000. I believe it's something to do with the timing or fuel mixture . Here's what I've done to the truck, head gasket, timing kit,oil pump water pump, tune up parts, fuel pump. I am not an avid mechanic and this is my first time diving this deep into it but have read for countless hours before doing all work and have been meticulous as possible but I'm kind of stuck at this point. I can get it to idle down by placing firm pressure on the primary throttle bracket towards the drivers side. Adjusting fuel mixture doesn't seem to affect it,also the factory set idle screw has the cap pulled off so I have no idea how of that is. I don't own a timing light yet but I assume I need a good idle before that. In other carb pictures I see the dash pot is touching the adjusting screw,mine is not. Any help would be great!

83720z24

waynosworld wrote:What is your issue/problem?