Let's talk brakes

Forum for Nissan wheel fitment, tire selection, suspension setup and brake discussions.
sly240
Car: 93 240sx

EDIT MORE INFO

Ok so this is my first technical write up. I am also new to NICO so I’ll try and make this as good as possible.
Ok well as the title says I want to talk brakes. My goal is to explain what I know about brakes and get some feedback from people and hopefully we can all learn something.

So the first things we need to talk about in brakes are Tires! I feel I need to explain traction and its effects on braking. So to maximize traction you have to keep the wheels rolling on the road. If you lock up the tires then you have less traction than when the tires were rolling with the road. (This is why we have ABS) same thing goes in the opposite direction if you spin tires when you accelerate you won’t accelerate as fast as if you hook up. Ok. The reason this is is because friction is grater between 2 objects when they are not moving in relation to each other.( “hooked up”) And it is less when they are moving in relation to each other.(wheels spinning, or locked up).

Now the other important thing about tires is traction is proportional to weight on the tire. Basically more weight = more traction. Now there is so much more to tires and traction that I’m leaving out but this is the basic you need to know for this discussion.

This should show how important tires (traction) is for braking. It is the most important part and will give you more braking performance than anything else. :bigthumb:

Wow ok now on to the actual brakes.

So when upgrading brakes you are trying to upgrade ether braking distance, brake fade, brake feel, or looks.