ka24de timing question

ONLY for ADVANCED technical discussion about the 240sx!
Kouki1998
Car: 1998 Nissan 240sx se

I am fairly new to working on cars so bare with me.

so i am doing a timing rebuild on a ka and i've got it all lined up with where the marks are supposed to be, but every time i turn the crank it always changes where the marks are and its always about a tooth off (i have read on some forums that it i supposed to line up after two full rotations). well my question is whether this is normal? i also want to add that i made the mistake of moving the crank when it was at tdc with the front chain off, could this be the cause of the timing being all off? i have redone the timing but im still having the same issue...

any feedback is appreciated

amc49
Car: '11 Nissan Versa
'17 Nissan Altima

Pretty much any engine on the planet turns the cams at half speed in relation to the crank and why CAM timing lines up every other time you turn the engine around using the crank at TDC. At that time whatever you are using as marks should pretty much line up then unless the chain(s) are stretched, you will have to be the determiner of that. They should not be off a whole tooth though.

'i also want to add that i made the mistake of moving the crank when it was at tdc with the front chain off, could this be the cause of the timing being all off?'

Can't do that, it throws the timing off. Just retime it to be right again..........

Kouki1998