Just bought a Q45

A Q45 forum / Cima forum for the President of Infiniti's lineup. Brought to you by Infiniti Parts USA, your OEM source for Q45 parts!
BlackBirdVQ
Car: 93 G20, 94 Q45, 00 Altima, 01 Maxima- quite a few

Hello, I just joined the forums today as I have purchased a -in need of work- 94 Q45 off Ebay. I am not a stranger to Nissans, as I have worked for Nissan as a tech few years back and own a few Nissans. I'm actually a Acura technician - for a living.

Anyways, anyone ever had a head gasket blow on them ? This car has a blown head gasket, from what I suspect the radiator that eighter blew or leaked out coolant. Previous owner had the radiator repleaced at Infiniti for 800 dollars and a month later hes had some serious issues with the car overheating etc.

I've worked on a few G50s in the past, but nothing this extenssive. http://www.blumhardt.net/pictures/Infinity/ - this is the car I bought, cost me 960 dollars.

I'm going to restore it somewhat and plan on putting a large shot of NOS, and other goodies on it to make it run some decent times down the 1/4 mile.

nuQ
Car: 2003 M45.
2009 Dodge Caliber SXT

Welcome to NICO, and this is defintely the place to find out about all things Q! Sure you'll get a ton of responses, but from what I know a blown head is a big fix, and very hard to do correctly. being an all aluminum engine it is vital that it is not overheated and from what i understand it is very hard to rebuild,,,the tolerances are crazy!! they're r much better experts here than me which i'm sure will give you a more detailed answer. good luck and welcome to nico!!!

DAEDALUS
Car: 1990 Q45

Welcome Blackbird! Just curious, is the overheating the only symptom? I've got a suspected bad HG, but few symptoms, and heads in work. The rebuild IS scary. Tolerances are tighter than most, but probably not any better/worse than Acura. Biggest difference is you're looking at 32 valves. John Dixon is cooking up something racy.

Jeff Williams