jdm transmission in usdm car?

The Nissan 300ZX (Z32) general community discussion forum
intermilanrox
Car: 1995 300zx 2+2

I was looking at buying a car near me red 1990 300zx 2+2 auto with 137k miles on it for $1500. The only problem is the transmission is shot. So I searched Ebay for transmissions and theres a bunch of jdm ones for sale. So my question is will it bolt right up without any problems/modifications. Also, most of the transmissions for sale are for a tt, is there any diffrence between the tt and n/a auto trans.Sorry if its a stupid question, I'm new to the Z32, just trying to learn along the way.

300freekzx
Car: 1990 300zx N/A, 1992 Honda Accord LX , 1991 Honda Accord LX, 2006 M35 Sport

This is the best advice DO A MANUAL SWAP. You will thank yourself later.

intermilanrox

I would, but I'm only 15 (right now) and its going to be my first car, so I feel auto would be alot easier. Also, my parents would rather have me drive auto first, then maybe later get a manual.

John1006
Car: 300ZX

I remember when i was 15, i didnt want a car unless it was manual. its so much better and you feel more like a MAN! lmao

KevinZtwin
Car: 1990 300zx Twin Turbo

I cannot tell you the difference between the n/a auto and the TT auto except that I am pretty sure there is some sort of difference (aside from the rear differential).

Z1 sells both non turbo and twin turbo automatic transmissions separately. This would lead me to believe that they are different in some way.

Have you considered taking it to a transmission repair shop and see what they would charge to rebuild it? Could be cheaper than buying another one with no way of knowing its condition prior to purchase.

Houston Z
Car: 300zx Twinturbo x 2 & 300zx nonturbo hardtop