It's time for me to own a PC

Forum dedicated to computer hardware and software, mobile phones and electronic gadgets.
RCA

Not in the sense of Mac vs Windows but an actual desktop.

I have been using a Dell Inspiron 6000 with out any goodies since I graduated high school in 04'. It had 1200x800 res, no graphics, no wifi, 40GB HDD, 1.3 Celeron, Windows XP and the battery hasn't been any good for about 2 years. So essentially I was using a laptop without a battery like a desktop. I finally decided to get a decent upgrade. To replace the portability of the laptop I went out and bought an Asus 1001-P (netbook).

And for the power end of the spectrum I bought an Acer Aspire M3800. It was a refurb from Micro Center (local PC mega store) and sold for $320 or so. For me it's biggest selling points were the DDR3 memory, gigabit ethernet and price. And because I wanted to eventually use 3 monitors I went out and got a Zotec GeForce 9400GT 512MB. I could of went for a better card but I didn't want to upgrade my 300w power supply. So all in all I spent $400 for the PC and card.

It was nice upgrading my first PC. Way better then upgrading netbooks and laptops... so much more room! Also because the Acer's mobo has a 775 socket, I can upgrade as I need all the way up to a Q9550S with out needing to change my power supply. I can also upgrade to 2x 4GB DDR3 on top of the 2x 2GB sticks. Or I can keep the processor, keep 2GBs of ram, transfer any goodies to a new machine I am building and use the Acer as a home theater PC.

My first desktop purchase required my first monitor purchase. I went with the ASUS VH236HL-P 23". I got it for $200 shipped to my door. The screen is absolutely beautiful. It out shines my plasma by a mile. I turned down the brightness just so when both were on, the monitor doesn't look that much brighter than the plasma.