intermittent door locking problem Using The Fob On Hot Days!

A forum for lovers of Infiniti's hot-rod crossover, the FX! In 2014, all FX models will be named Infiniti QX70, in line with Infiniti's new naming structure.
imnprsd
Car: 2004 Infiniti FX45

This is my first attempt to fix an intermittent door locking problem commonly to occur on hot days or when using the fob several time in a row.

COMPLAINT: All doors and the trunk door stopped responding to the fob, but only on hot days!

Why?

Most have attributed this to a bad door lock motor. And other's have suggested that one bad motor can affect the whole system. So where do you start?

First, I would try something else. Try removing the the master console arm set of switches (for windows and door locks) in the driver's door panel; and then undo the 2 electrical harnesses -- without removing the door panel. Just pop-up the group of window and door lock master switches and clean the contacts of just the door lock master switch. Easy!

* Use electrical contact cleaner as best you can to clean the switch contacts. And you may as a final step need to apply silicon if the switch plastic is affected by the cleaner and starts to stick after using the electric cleaner. TBD.

If you still find your fob is unresponsive on hot days, then you will need to proceed as follows to remove the door panel.

Remove The Door Cover/Panel

* Watch this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?reload=9&v=MMRugjltUK8

* Just remove the 3 door screws as shown in the picture below,

* Unclip the wire harnesses, but do not remove the door locking actuator cables or mark them if you do.

Tip: Use a small screwdriver and squeeze it with one hand to depress the "tab" that locks the electrical connector in place.

FIX YOUR DOOR CATCH WHILE YOU HAVE THE DOOR PANEL OFF

* With the door panel hanging by the locking cables...