Infiniti newbie question: premium fuel

Discussion forum for the Infiniti JX35 / Infiniti QX60 - This 7-seat premium crossover dominates the class.
yhz123
Car: JX35

hello,

I'm new to Infiniti after 15 years of Pathfinders and new to this forum. I'll be picking up my JX35 tomorrow morning.
Do I really need to use premium fuel?

thanks.

Jabberwocky
Car: 08 Subaru WRX

Does the manual say premium recommended or premium required? If it says required then yes I would only use premium. If its recommended you may be able to get away with using 87, but personally I would use what the Infiniti engineers recommended to use. Using premium should ensure optimum performance and longetivity. If you're enough of a baller to be buying a JX, you should splurge on the premium :)

If you do use a cheaper grade listen to the engine closely, if you hear even the slightest bit of a pinging sound fill it back up with premium immediately.

Towncivilian
Car: 2001.5 Pathfinder SE 3.5L 2WD A/T
2007 Altima 2.5L CVT
2012 Sentra 2.0L CVT Special
2012 G37 Sedan 7A/T

You should be able to run regular (87) octane without a problem. Even VQ35DE equipped Pathfinders will tolerate 87. For best performance and possibly a very small improvement in fuel economy, I'd run premium in any vehicle that recommends it. See here for more info about octane if you are unfamiliar with the concept.

Welcome to NICO.

ballz3
Car: 2010 Black G37xS
2013 Black JX35

I just picked up my JX on Friday. The manual states the same as my G37, which is premium is required (91). It states that in an emergency you can put a couple of gallons of regular in there, but to go back to premium as soon as possible.

yhz123