How to test MAF to see if it's working?

For the RWD SR20DET cars! Sponsored by Wiring Specialties.
pumpiniron
Car: 1990 Nissan Sileighty SR20DET

How to test MAF to see if it's working?

Postby pumpiniron » Sat May 05, 2007 8:00 pm

I think my SR20DET has a bad MAF but before I go out and buy a new one I was wondering if anyone knows how to test a MAF to see if it's bad? I have a multimeter so perhaps someone knows the voltage I should be checking the MAF for or something? A step by step walkthrough would be awesome since I've never done this before (but yes I have used a multimeter before many times!).

Also does any other MAF cross refference with the SR20DET MAF?

Steve Lloyd

Re: How to test MAF to see if it's working? (pumpiniron)

Postby Steve Lloyd » Sun May 06, 2007 4:14 am

what is your car doing to lead you to believe your MAF is bad?? First thing i would do as far as testing goes is make sure you have continuity between MAF and ECU. This will rule out the wiring for you.

S13FASTBACKSR
Car: '92 Fastback SR powered

Re: How to test MAF to see if it's working? (Steve Lloyd)

Postby S13FASTBACKSR » Sun May 06, 2007 6:20 am

MAF voltage should be 12v on the power wire (black and white wire) and 5v on the signal wire (white wire) the all black wire is the ground. Another way to test the MAF to see if its bad is to check for codes on the ecu..if you get a code 12 then your MAF is indeed bad

pumpiniron

Re: How to test MAF to see if it's working? (Steve Lloyd)

Postby pumpiniron » Sun May 06, 2007 8:26 am

Steve Lloyd wrote:what is your car doing to lead you to believe your MAF is bad?? First thing i would do as far as testing goes is make sure you have continuity between MAF and ECU. This will rule out the wiring for you.