How to test ignition coil packs?

The club for Nissan Maxima and Infiniti I30 / I35 owners, and the official home of Maxima Club of America!
gmjordan
Car: 2002 Nissan Maxima

Hi,

I have a 2002 Nissan Maxima with a 3.5 V6 engine. I am in the process of troubleshooting a P0300. By the way, I am not a mechanic.

I want to test my coil packs and I read on here that one way would be to start the car and pull each coil, one at a time, and see if the engine changes idle, etc. This make sense to me but my question is how do I do this test on the 3 coil packs in the rear of the engine. They cannot be accessed without removing the intake plenum (I think that's what it is called). This makes me think I can't test the 3 coil packs in the rear.

Is there another way? What should I do to test the 3 coil packs in the rear?

Thank you so much for your help! :)

04pathse
Car: 2004 Nissan Pathfinder SE
2008.5 Mazda Mazdaspeed 3

you can test them with a multimeter, there are several youtube videos on how to do it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZPiD7nv9Bw

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_ ... axima+2000

If you are getting a random/multiple cylinder misfire code (p0300) but no supporting codes like p0301, p0302 etc, then most likely it is NOT your coil or spark plug or a specific injector. Instead, it would most likely be something that is associated with ALL cylinders like a intake manifold leak, mass air flow sensor, ecu, ground problem, etc.

amc49
Car: '11 Nissan Versa
'17 Nissan Altima

Pulling the plug wire at the plug itself does the same test but has to be 6 separate coils, if 3 twin tower or output (waste spark) type then all you can check is pairs, not individual cylinders.

macgiver