Hi! I'm new to the hybrids forum.

V8 240sx? Sure! If either the chassis OR the engine is non-Nissan (i.e. SR20 in an RX-7 or LS1 in a 240sx), we've done it.
Eikon
Car: 71 240z, 93 Supra TT

Hey everybody... My name is Seth and I have a problem. (like this is an AA meeting or some 12 step program).

I recently sold my Rb powered 240 convertible and I'm ready to start a new project.

My last car was built to cruise... mild power mods to rb20, shock/springs instead of coilovers, and a full body kit to make it all look nice.

This time I want to build one that performs!!!

I'm not a hardcore racer, so I'm not going to strip the interior and turn it into a full time track car... But I would like to occasionally take it to a 1/4 mile track, run it on a autocross circuit, or even entertain the idea of drifting... All casually of course.

So i've got a S14 shell that needs an engine. I've also got a LQ4 motor that needs a chassis.

What I don't have yet is all the decisions made as to how to build this thing. Once I figure out what I need, I can slowly work on buying the parts and putting it together.

Here's what I'm planning so far...

Most of the hybrid forum readers will already know that the LQ4 is a 6.0L iron block version of the LS1. It's a bit heavier than the aluminum LS1 (about 65 lbs) from what I hear... but because it's got a bit more displacement, the power gains should easily compensate for the extra lbs. The amazing thing about the motor is that it's got a 4.000" bore.. which allows me to fit L92 heads to it. They are cheap heads available through a dealership for like $250 each bare. They are supposed to flow a ton of air.

I've been reading articles and forum threads that talk about people making as much as 500hp on the 6L motor with these heads and the corresponding L92 low profile car style intake.

So making the power appears to be inexpensive...