Help With 2006 350Z Excessive Oil Consumption

Nissan 350z / Nissan 370z technical discussion forum: Maintenance, performance, installations, modifications, how-to's and troubleshooting.
Bob350Z
Car: 2006 Nissan 350Z Grand Touring Roadster Convertible

I am new to being a Nissan Owner. Recently purchased a showroom condition 2006 350Z Grand Touring Roadster 3.5l/ 6spd. manual tranny....and about 77,000 miles.

The car is in awesome shape....although not with some usual problems of a car almost 10 years old.

The one mechanical thing that is bugging me is the amount of oil consumption (but is not necessarily buring it or smoking). What I have learned is that this particular year has issues with the PCV system and allows too much oil to get up into the intake manifold area. There are several possible reasons.

1. The basic engine was designed for normal lower RPM daily usage when linked to the automatic tranny.
2. The fuel injection system adds to the amount of positive crankcase pressure and an poorly designed PCV system is going to cause issues.

I have replaced the PCV vale......with little effect. I have not pulled the valve cover to make sure that the drain valley is free and clear and not clogged up.

The confusion comes in when I am trying to decide if I out to go with a vented cap system in place of the PCV or do a reroute and add a vented Oil Catch Can and replace the PCV valve.

I need some help to decide with is best to do. I am not adding any turbo.......and just leaving the engine stock.

I am getting somewhere in the neighborhood of 500-700 miles to a quart based on the type of driving I am doing.

Any input is appreciated.....

Thanks.....

Bob

Rogue One
Administrator
Car: 2011 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Nissan Rogue SL
2012 Honda CR-V LX
2022 Honda Pilot Special Edition

Welcome to NICO!

I've moved your thread to the correct forum area, to get the best responses to your question.

Bob350Z
Car: 2006 Nissan 350Z Grand Touring Roadster Convertible