Help me out Guys

Information on the naturally-aspirated KA24E and KA24DE engines.
jefferson240
Car: soccer, cars

My Ka is getting old so I'm thinking about reviving it. I has 91,000 miles on it so I'm wondering what I should put in it to prep for a turbo. First a complete rebuild, I Know I want a lower compression ratio to be compatable with the turbo I get. I a novice when it comes to the world of engines. So if you could through me ideas about the right pistons, cams, fuel pump, head, or anything else I need to upgrade\change, throw out brand names and websites if you can. Any information is appreciated.

Thanks - Jefferson240

ninjak84
Car: S13, Z32, Titan

i'm no pro at this, but im pretty much in the same situation as you "lower miles tho)anyways, heres what i know.....

- new fuel pump- new injectors

and i think it would be a good idea to replace your head gasket if it hasnt been done before. maybe just polish your cams, pistons and cylinders.just some advice

cnichols
Car: 96 Nissan 240SX, 99 Infiniti Q45, 93 Ford Fastiva

I think it would be a good idea to sell it and buy an SR20. I was pro KA for a long while, but after owning a Turbo KA, I have absolutely changed my mind. Not only do you get an engine that is meant to be turbo, you get an engine with a much larger aftermarket that can easily outrev the KA any day.

C-Kwik
Car: 2013 Chevy Volt, 1991 Honda CRX DX

There's no set compression ratio that is compatible with a turbo. Lower compression is more turbo friendly, especially when it comes to higher boost. But the trade off is drivability off-boost. If you are rebuilding your entire motor, there's not much you need to check as long as it's done right. Most other upgrades will involve tuning the engine management to compensate for the turbo.

cnichols