Headers?

The G-Series Tuning Forum is the place to discuss G35/G37 performance modifications and mechanical repair.
AddictionG35
Car: 2003 Infiniti G35 Coupe 5AT (R.I.P. 03 SEP 07)

I was on everythingG35 looking to order an exhaust for my G when I noticed the headers and realized, I really don't know what they do and if it's something I would want to consider... sorry I know, I am a total noob. Can anyone tell me more about headers, what they are, what they do, what kind of gains you would get from them and if they are something that should be considered for G35's? Thanks all

joe603
Car: 2014 Durango R/T

I'd be happy to explain. On most OEM exhaust systems the exhaust path starts at the manifold. This is bolted to the engine heads. Almost all OEM exhaust manifolds are designed with cost in mind. Each cylinder port is connected to a common pipe (collector) that flows straight out of the engine. The collector is the beginning of the exhaust path to the tailpipe (usually connected to a catalytic converter). The more bends in an exhaust system the more restrictive it is to flow.

This design is bad because the pulsing cylinders at the collector are disruptive to the total airflow. Headers solve this by providing a path for each exhaust port to a collector that is some distance from the engine, instead of directly bolted on. The pulsing is smoothed out from the change in flow design. Equal-length headers further improve flow because the pulses are not disruptive to each other when they all have an equal distance to travel.

A header install is difficult due to the close quarters in that part of the engine bay, the emissions gear, and spark plugs/wires all crowded for space. Sealing headers properly can be a nightmare if not done right.