GRM $2008 Challenge 300ZX

A home for 1983–1989 300ZX owners!
evildky
Car: 71 240ZT, 87 300ZXN/A-T, 06 350Z GT, Tundra TRD RW

if you're not familiar with the Grassroots Motorsports magazine Challenge series go to their site and read up, I'm a 5 time veteran and placed 10th overall in $2005, instead of building another S30 requiring a lot of body work and rust repair, I kinda stumbled into a deal on an 87 300ZX N/A Auto, runs and drives I bought it on ebay, the pic's looked good, it was local and the seller said it was rust free, i won the auction for $710 http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors...&rd=1well I went to pick it up and found it looks far better in the pic;s than in persone and had a pretty serious amount of rust in the floor behind the drivers seat and this car stank like it had been sitting in a junk yard rotting for years with no t-tops, the rear cargo area was green with mold, I decided I could not honor the auction with the rust being so close to the structural mounting point for the rear suspension, here is the hold once I removed the carpet and deadening materialwell the seller agreed and was just eager to get rid of it and offered it to me for $200, I figured it was worth that in scrap metal so I drug it home, I then went and found a donor 5 speer turbo 86 model at a local junk yard, and bought the whole car for $450, it was stated to have a bad motor and a good trans, most importantly it had all the donor turbo parts a well as the 5 speed donor parts, as well as plenty of other good parts to sell off to offset my budget here are the 2 cars in my garageafter tearing the turbo motor down i found out why it was badsolved that mystery

my goal is to run a low 12 or high 11 in the quarter, I expect to have the car down to 2700lbs with me in it! everything not needed to make the car stop go or turn will be removed, this includes deadening material, hvac, power steering, bumpers etc