Going wireless...

Forum dedicated to computer hardware and software, mobile phones and electronic gadgets.
krimsonviper
Car: 2010 MS3 -PAID
2010 Mazda 3i Touring -Totaled
2006 Mazda 3i Sport -Totaled
1989 S13 -Sold
1990 S13 -Sold

At my parents house. They have DSL, with a crappy DSL modem. 3 questions:1. Can I buy a wireless router to substitute the modem? Complete noobert with networking.

2. The wireless is mainly for my Xbox360, the router itself is going to be next to the desktop PC, the house is over 1,000sq. ft. single floor. What's a good rating for the house? G or N? The 360 and router are going to be on opposite ends of the house. I play mainly FPS'.

3. Preferred brand? Belkin looks reliable because it looks professional looking, lol. I've had some experience with Linksys, and had some trouble with it(360 kept having DNS messages), so I don't want Linksys. Other brands I've seen is D-Link and Netgear.

Warped161
Car: 90 s13 the never ending project

i have a Dlink Xtreme N DUO GIGABIT Router. the range covers my whole yard. Your router cannot substitute your modem. if your having issues with it there should be a diff model available from the dsl company.

Beancooker
Car: Current Car: 2019 Toyota Tacoma (modded)
Past cars: Way too many to list

Routers don't take the place of a modem. They transmit the signal from the modem to more than one PC.

If the modem is a POS, it won't be any better with a router, it will actually be a little worse.

Belkin sucks the taint.

Lynksys or D-Link are the better ones.

I run a D-Link Extreme gigabit blah blah blah router. It runs on wireless N which is nice when moving files from PC to PC via the network. It's faster than broadband.

Fire the DSL, and get cable. It's totally worth the extra $$$.

krimsonviper
1989 S13 -Sold
1990 S13 -Sold

My whole block has cable and 2 more of my friends on the other block, stealing my bandwidth. Doesn't that effect it?

Dittoz7
Car: 1997 2f0WtY SE!

WEP Password.

Warped161