G owner looking to become an FX owner need feedback!!

A forum for lovers of Infiniti's hot-rod crossover, the FX! In 2014, all FX models will be named Infiniti QX70, in line with Infiniti's new naming structure.
J-Owner
Car: 2010 FX35 owner and former owner of an '05 G35 Coupe and a '95 J30T.

Hey guys,

I am new to the FX side of things, been on the G side for four years and J side prior to that. I am looking to buy an new FX and was hoping some '09 owners could chime in with some feedback. You know likes, dislikes, dependability, gas mileage, comfort, etc.

How good is the technology on it, is nav user friendly and well thought out? Is the tech package worth it?

I recently sold my Mercedes CLS (I rarely drove it) and looking to sell the G in the coming months as I am tired of having a sports car and I need an SUV. Any feedback would be great. I have been searching the site but thought I would create a post and see if you all could help me out.

Thanks!

atlex35
Car: 2006 Red/Black G35 Coupe and 2009 Black/Black FX35

Check out the link. I bought an EX first and traded it in for 09 FX35 with Nav and Premium packages.

zer...-fx35

The technology in the car is well done. Everything works together. The Nav system would be better if they took off the safe guards for data entry while driving. iPod control is very user friendly. Bluetooth connects and works easily with both my BB Storm and wife's Instinct.

Interior layout flows well. Seats look great and are comfortable. Rear seats can fit 3 adults without a problem.

My one dislike is the 7spd tranny. It's great for highway cruising but in traffic (speeds under 40mph) the tranny is always hunting for the correct gear. It jerks into gear somethings. Driving in DS mode with the paddles shifters is a lot of fun! I still own the 06 G35 coupe and the gearing in that 5spd is far better than the new FX.

Let me know if you have any detailed questions.

-John

I always wanted to have a J30t as a daily driver

atlex35